Mississippi To COVID+: Isolate Or Face Jail Time [Video]

The Hill reports:

In his isolation order, Mississippi State Health Officer Thomas Dobbs said that people had to isolate themselves at home once they become aware that they are infected. People are expected to remain home for 10 days since becoming ill or testing positive for COVID-19, regardless of whether they are fully vaccinated.

The order stated that refusal to obey could include several fines or punishments. For those who refuse to obey the order of a health official, a person could either receive a $500 fine, up to six months in jail or both. However, when a life-threatening disease is involved, the refusal to obey the order could include up to $5,000 in fines, five years of jail time or both.

Read the full article.