House Approves Fines For Dodging Metal Detectors

Newsweek reports:

On Tuesday, the House instated new rules to issue a $5,000 fine to any lawmakers who refuse to go through the metal detector that was installed outside of the Congressional chamber four days after the January 6 insurrection. A second refusal will result in a $10,000 fine.

The new rules require the House Ethics Committee to publicly announce any fines incurred by non-compliant lawmakers. Lawmakers won’t be able to pay fines with campaign funds or congressional office budget funds.

GOP legislators who denounced or refused to cooperate with the security measures included Reps. Louie Gohmert of Texas, Steve Stivers of Ohio, Lauren Boebert of Colorado, Van Taylor of Texas and Debbie Lesko of Arizona.

Read the full article.