11 Republicans Vote Against Motion To Start Trial

The Washington Post reports:

Senate Majority Leader Charles E. Schumer (D-N.Y.) introduced a resolution setting the parameters of the trial as the first order of business.

“It’s our solemn constitutional duty to conduct a fair and honest impeachment trial of the charges against former President Trump, the gravest charges ever brought against a president of the United States in American history,” Schumer said.

The resolution passed 89-11. The 11 Republicans voting against it were: Ted Cruz (Tex.), Rand Paul (Ky.), Mike Lee (Utah), Josh Hawley (Mo.), Ron Johnson (Wis.), Marco Rubio (Fla.), Rick Scott (Fla.), Tim Scott (S.C.), Roger Marshall (Kan.), Tommy Tuberville (Ala.) and Bill Hagerty (Tenn.).

Read the full article.