Brits Rush For EU Residency Before Brexit Deadline

Reuters reports:

Britain formally left the European Union on Jan. 31 after its 2016 referendum, busince then it has been in a transition period under which rules on free travel and trade remain unchanged. That period ends on Dec. 31.

Fourteen European countries, including Portugal and Spain, will grant Britons arriving before Dec. 31 the right to five years of residency.

Other countries have tougher post-Brexit requirements, asking all Britons to re-apply after the transition period.