Chinese Govt Imposes Sanctions On Four Republicans

The New York Times reports:

As tensions between the two sides mount, the Chinese government announced on Monday that it would impose sanctions on three American lawmakers and a diplomat in retaliation for similar moves last week by the Trump administration against four officials in China.

The largely symbolic sanctions targeted Senator Marco Rubio of Florida, Senator Ted Cruz of Texas and Representative Chris Smith of New Jersey, all of whom are Republicans.

Also named were Sam Brownback, President Trump’s ambassador at large for international religious freedom, and the Congressional-Executive Commission on China, a United States government agency that focuses on human rights.

None of the named Republicans are known to have assets in China or investments in Chinese companies.