Finalized EU Ban On Visitors Includes United States

NPR reports:

The European Union will bar U.S. travelers from visiting when the bloc begins opening its external borders on July 1. EU ambassadors endorsed a list of 15 travel partners on Tuesday, including South Korea, Japan and China – countries that were hit early by the pandemic but have been able to bring the coronavirus under control.

The 15 countries are: Algeria, Australia, Canada, China, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay.

The U.S. now has the highest number of confirmed infections and the highest number of deaths cause by COVID-19 of any country in the world, according to Johns Hopkins University Coronavirus Resource Center.