FLORIDA: Broward County Bans Ex-Gay Torture

Minutes ago the Broward County Commission voted unanimously to ban ex-gay torture, becoming the 16th and largest Florida municipality thus far to take such a stand.

Other Florida municipalities with bans on the books include Palm Beach County, Boca Raton, Miami, Tampa, Wilton Manors, Key West, and Oakland Park.

Bucking the statewide trend, however, is Miami-Dade County, which rejected a ban late last year.

Nationally, nine states have banned the abusive practice as have numerous cities including Washington DC, Philadelphia, Seattle, Pittsburgh, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Toledo, Dayton, Columbus, and the Pennsylvania towns of Reading, Allentown, and Doylestown.

In New York state, the insurers are banned from covering ex-gay torture via an executive order issued by Gov. Andrew Cuomo. Last month the New York City Council enacted a series of escalating fines for “therapists” who charge their victims.