CYPRUS: Parliament Approves Civil Unions

Via ILGA-Europe:

The Cypriot parliament has voted in favour of the Civil Partnership Bill, meaning that same-sex couples in Cyprus will be legally recognised for the first time. The legislation, which has generated lots of debate nationally, will offer couples the same rights as civil marriage. However, joint adoption rights are not included as part of the civil union law. 39 members of parliament voted in favour of the bill, 12 against and three members abstained.

ILGA-Europe are very pleased that the bill has finally been approved. We congratulate all the civil society groups, political leaders and allies involved in this lengthy campaign for their persistence and dedication to equality. “Same-sex couples and their families are just as deserving of protection as their heterosexual friends and neighbours. This is not about giving one group ‘special rights’ but about recognising the wonderful diversity of families that live in Europe.” said ILGA-Europe Executive Director, Evelyne Paradis.

(Tipped by JMG reader Luis)

RELATED: The European Union currently has 28 members. Same-sex marriage is legal in twelve of them: Belgium, Denmark, Finland (effective 2017), France, Ireland, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia (effective date pending), Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland.) Civil unions are legal in eight EU nations: Austria, Croatia, Cyprus (effective date pending), the Czech Republic, Estonia (effective 2016), Germany, Hungary, and Malta. No partnership recognitions exist in eight EU nations: Bulgaria, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, and Slovakia. Non-EU members Norway and Iceland legalized same-sex marriage in 2009 and 2010, respectively. Non-EU member Switzerland legalized registered partnerships in 2007.